Questions about my role in life…

It can be very hard in the busy schedule of running around trying to manage and manoeuvre your way through hectic schedules and trying to meet high quality standards in everything you do. Some people still think and argue that housewives have an easier time of it compared to working people, but for someone with mental illness even the schedule of a housewife can seem busy, hectic and hard to manage.

Also there is the need to meet quality standards of cleanliness whilst looking after busy kids. You have to keep the house clean while chasing and cleaning after every new dirty area your kids leave in a mess, they can leave toys lying around or even bits of food crumbs or teared up bits of paper everywhere. You could just have finished vacuuming your house, only to find the lounge room full of bits of teared up paper, then you have to tidy and clean up all over again.

Then once any of your children has reached three years old they are expected to start schedules of regular playgroups or three year old kindergarten and you still have to do the shopping, pay bills etc. Cooking can take anywhere from half an hour to a few hours depending on what you make, then there is the almost never ending piles of dishes from meals and snacks.

It can actually be pretty hard to meet any sort of timing or scheduling sheet you might plan up even without a mental illness. When you have a mental illness it can be a pain or maybe impossible to try to stick to any sort of schedule because you also have your emotional or mental symptoms to deal with while you try to juggle all the stress and confusion of how to keep everything clean and under control.

Are you supposed to entertain and keep your children busy so they are learning and not making a mess, cleaning up after the mess and spills they create, doing the general cleaning or cooking for the nights meal? Having so much to do can be almost overwhelming if you do suffer from a mental illness. Then if you try to fulfil your own needs for hobbies or friends, it can be an almost impossible task of getting everything done.

Then there is also the possibility that your feeling needy to be pursuing any sort of hobby or ideas of working from home it can cause even more chaos. Learning how to fulfil your needs of achievement and how to feel as though you have a purpose in life can be tricky. Some people say that just by managing the general tasks of being a housewife and mother should be fulfilling in its own right.

What if it’s simply not enough or you feel like you’re simply not good at it no matter how hard you try? What if the place you’re given by life and the people around you doesn’t match your expectations for life? What if it doesn’t suit your personality type and you struggle to fulfil the role you’ve been given?

I’ve been told by a few people with mental illness that my need to be creative and to try to get myself known somehow and to gain some credit for my creative activities is a symptom of mental illness. My husband is also still trying also to get me to give up my craft hobbies so I can focus solely on my duties as a housewife.

So almost a week ago I started a little experiment to see if how I feel living without undertaking any major creative project and see if I’m able to live happily or not. So far there is a slight decrease in my frustration of trying to find time and ideas on how to get my projects posted online. I find myself able to focus better on most of my daily tasks I try to get done as apart of my role as housewife.

I still look for creative ways I can come up with activities to try with my son to try to give him some home schooling though. This means that I do have a bit of a way to go before I can say I have totally given up on my creative activities 100%. You do tend to use some creative ideas to try to keep children entertained and busy with activities that they can also learn from. If I’m not meant to create art and craft to sell I can at least channel some of my creative ideas and energy into creating activities for my son and have less guilt and less blame for wasting time on useless crafts.

Leave a Reply

